Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module

New Laws for the New Year

The Illinois General Assembly’s biggest achievement of 2013—the marriage equality law—won’t go into effect until June 1. But plenty of others will swing into force when the ball drops on January 1. Here are six.

Photography: istockphoto

Stricter

  • Tossing a cigarette butt out of a moving vehicle can get you fined $1,500.
  • Using a handheld phone while driving in the state will cost you at least $75.
  • Basking in a tanning bed becomes illegal if you’re under 18; salons in violation face a $250 fine.
  • You can no longer buy or sell a gun privately without approval from state police.1

More Lenient

  • Godspeed! The limit on rural highways goes from 65 to 70 miles per hour.
  • You can buy marijuana—so long as you suffer from one of 30 state-approved maladies2; and have a prescription.
NOTES: 1. A seller must call a police hotline to confirm the buyer has a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification Card. 2. Go to ilga.gov for the list. SOURCES: Litter Control Act; Illinois Vehicle code; Tanning Facility Permit Act; Firearm Concealed Carry Act; Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act.

Share

Edit Module

Advertisement

Edit Module
Submit your comment

Comments are moderated. We review them in an effort to remove foul language, commercial messages, abuse, and irrelevancies.

Edit Module