The Five Holdouts Who Actually Vote Against the Mayor

Just five aldermen—pictured in their council seats in February—have accounted for more than half of the 112 dissenting votes against Mayor Emanuel so far.

Inside a Chicago City Council meeting

Photography: (council chamber) Anna Knott; (Sposato) E. Jason Wambsgans/Chicago Tribune; (Hairston, Waguespack) Nancy Stone/Chicago Tribune; (Arena) Antonio Perez/Chicago Tribune; (Fioretti) Charles Cherney/Chicago Tribune

Above, from left to right:

Nicholas Sposato

Scott Waguespack

John Arena

Leslie Hairston

Robert Fioretti

Nicholas Sposato
36th Ward
10 “no” votes
Scott Waguespack
32nd Ward
11 “no” votes
John Arena
45th Ward
18 “no” votes
Leslie Hairston
5th Ward
7 “no” votes
Robert Fioretti
2nd Ward
14 “no” votes

Mayor Emanuel (at far right)

* * *

The Can't-Say-No Council

NOTES: *Nothing gets to the council floor without the mayor’s blessing, so a “yes” vote means voting with the mayor. **They are: Michelle Harris (8th Ward), John Pope (10th), Marty Quinn (13th), Ed Burke (14th), JoAnn Thompson (16th), Latasha Thomas (17th), Matthew O’Shea (19th), Howard Brookins Jr. (21st), Daniel Solis (25th), Walter Burnett Jr. (27th), Jason Ervin (28th), Deborah Graham (29th), Ariel Reboyras (30th), Ray Suarez (31st), Richard Mell (33rd), Emma Mitts (37th), Margaret Laurino (39th), Patrick O’Connor (40th), Mary O’Connor (41st), Thomas Tunney (44th), and Debra Silverstein (50th). SOURCE: Chicago City Clerk

RELATED: Why Chicago’s Spineless City Council Just Can’t Say No »



Submit your comment

Comments are moderated. We review them in an effort to remove foul language, commercial messages, abuse, and irrelevancies.

Note: To serve its readers better, Chicago has migrated its comments to Disqus, a popular commenting platform. Please feel free to contact us with any feedback.