Moon Voyage Boutique Opens in Wicker Park Tomorrow

There’s also a custom shoe maker’s launch party, a salon’s Blow-Dry-A-Thon, and a 54-vendor Dose Market coming up on Sunday.

Photograph:

Store Gazing

Wicker Park’s newest women’s boutique Moon Voyage (2010 W. Pierce Ave., 773-423-8853, shopmoonvoyage.com) debuts tomorrow, in a prime Six Corners location a stone’s throw from both The Violet Hour and Big Star.

Owner Susie Lee says she aims for a mix of carefree Los Angeles attitude and New York City edginess in the shop’s collection of clothing, accessories, specialty lingerie, apothecary, and home goods. Moon Voyage carries more than 40 brands, including French label American Retro (americanretro.fr), U.K. brand Lazy Oaf (lazyoaf.co.uk), NYC-based Courtshop (courtshop.com), and Otis & Maclain (otisandmaclain.com) out of Los Angeles. Fans of Free People will dig the vibe.

 

Top Sales This Week

Stampede over to the Gilt City Warehouse Sale (giltcity.com) this Saturday at the Museum of Contemporary Art Warehouse (1747 W. Hubbard St.) for women’s and men’s designer apparel, shoes, accessories, home goods, and more, with prices slashed by up to 90 percent. Buy tickets ($10) at GiltCity.com.

Gordon Salon (3336 N. Clark St., 773-388-9999, gordonsalon.com) hosts a Blow-Dry-A-Thon on Friday from 4 to 9 p.m. For $20, you’ll be treated to a luxury blow out that includes stress-relieving hand and shoulder massages, makeup touch-ups, and a cookie bar. Tarot card readings will be available for an additional $15. All proceeds will be donated to the local charity Alliance of the Great Lakes. Call the salon at 773-388-9999 to book your appointment.

 

The Best of the Rest

  • Some of Lincoln Park’s best boutiques team up on Thursday for the Lincoln Park After Dark Spring Fashion Show (lincolnparkmerchantsassociation.com), an evening event featuring styles from stores like Barbour, Comfort Me Boutique, and Piper Boutique. Festivities will be held at Essentia (2118 N. Halsted St.) and a $5 donation is requested. Doors open at 7 p.m. and the first 100 fashionable folks to arrive will snag a gift bag.
  • Dose Market (dosemarket.com) returns to the River East Art Center (435 E. Illinois St., 312-321-1001, rivereastartcenter.com) on Sunday (10 a.m. to 4 p.m.) with a 54-vendor roster of edibles and wearables. Thirty-eight new Dosers will be on hand—including FoundRe (foundrefurnishings.com), which will provide on-site framing services. Tickets are $8 advance (dosemarket.com/tickets) or $10 at the door.
  • Chicago-based KLUTCHclub (klutchclub.com), a monthly subscription service that ships a themed goody box to your doorstep every month, has just launched KLUTCHmom. Each box costs roughly $17, and is filled with more than $50 worth of products for mom and baby, such as GoGo squeeZ applesauce, Own rejuvenating cleanser, and Barre real food snack bars.
  • Tomorrow night, City Soles (2001 W. North Ave., 773-489-2001, citysoles.com) and CheekyChicago co-host a party marking the launch of custom shoe label CHROMATICgallerie (chromaticgallerie.com). Stop by City Soles from 6 to 8 p.m. to shop, sip complimentary cocktails, and score a gift bag. Then, join the after-party at Big Star. Space is limited; RSVP to cheekyrsvp@gmail.com.

Share

Advertisement

Submit your comment

Comments are moderated. We review them in an effort to remove foul language, commercial messages, abuse, and irrelevancies.