Things to Do This Winter in Chicago: Calendar of Events

An antihibernation guide to cultural happenings during the drab months

(page 2 of 3)

JANUARY

1 Run, overindulger, run! Pop an aspirin and join the New Year’s Day 5K in Lincoln Park. chicagoevents.com

2 Waltz into the new year: The Strauss Symphony of America performs its annual Salute to Vienna concert. cso.org

3 Sara Paretsky’s latest detective novel, Breakdown, hits bookstores today. saraparetsky.com

4 Our kind of book club meets tonight: cocktails and lit at The Whistler. whistlerchicago.tumblr.com FREE

5 Catch Lookingglass’s new play about Jackie Robinson joining the Brooklyn Dodgers. lookingglasstheatre.org

A scene from 'Casablanca'

6 Rick and Ilsa in Casablanca get live orchestral backup from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. cso.org

7 Chicago Sketchfest courts the under-18 set in a daytime show for kids. chicagosketchfest.com kid friendly

8 Performance artist Sharon Hayes explores politics at the Art Institute, in her first solo show at a U.S. museum. artic.edu

9 Closing soon: Crime Unseen, at the Museum of Contemporary Photography, reimagines historical crime scenes. mocp.org FREE

10 Choreographer Twyla Tharp sets Frank Sinatra’s big-band sound in motion in Come Fly Away, opening today. broadwayinchicago.com

11 Can’t wait for the November elections? Watch the results in a different sort of race tonight: the People’s Choice Awards on CBS. peopleschoice.com

12 Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man begins previews tonight at the Court Theatre. courttheatre.org

13 Listen to fans debate the merits of new boss Theo Epstein on opening day of the Cubs Convention. cubs.mlb.com

14 Penultimate day for Tomorrow Never Knows, an indie-rock mini fest. lincolnhallchicago.com

15 Feel good about global warming at Blizzard of ’67, a new play at Chicago Dramatists about record-setting weather. chicagodramatists.org

16 Mei-Ann Chen, the Chicago Sinfonietta music director, conducts a two-night tribute to Martin Luther King Jr. chicagosinfonietta.org

17 Warm up with whiskey tastings at Koval Distillery’s semimonthly workshop. koval-distillery.com

E. Faye Butler

18 Don’t miss E. Faye Butler in Black Pearl Sings!, the Depression-era musical now onstage at Northlight Theatre in Skokie. northlight.org

19 The city’s longest-running fringe festival is well under way—Rhino Fest takes over the Prop Theatre through mid-February. rhinofest.com

20 There’s no celebrity Kathy Griffin won’t skewer during her two-night run at the Chicago Theatre. thechicagotheatre.com

21 Swap your set of wheels for new(ish) ones at the Chicago Winter Bike Swap at Harper College in Palatine. chicagowinterbikeswap.com kid friendly

22 See Diane D’Aquila as the queen in Elizabeth Rex on the show’s closing night at Chicago Shakespeare Theater. chicagoshakes.com

23 Second City’s touring company brings home its road show Laugh Out Loud. secondcity.com

Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo

24 Men in tutus: The all-male drag troupe Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo performs tonight. harristheaterchicago.org

25 David Mamet’s incendiary Race is halfway through its run at the Goodman. goodmantheatre.org

26 Tonight the Music Box screens a directorial debut that just premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. musicboxtheatre.com

27 Today through the weekend, Navy Pier becomes a snow-sculpture showcase. explorechicago.org kid friendly FREE

28 Singer Robbie Fulks brings the honky-tonk to Oak Park’s Unity Temple. utconcerts.com

29 Usher in the Year of the Dragon at the Chinese New Year Parade on Wentworth Avenue at Cermak Road. chicagochinatown.org kid friendly FREE

30 See Kay Rosen’s site-specific wall painting, cryptically titled Don’t Look Back, before it comes down. hydeparkart.org FREE

31 A chandelier made entirely of bones is one of several works haunting the Cultural Center in Morbid Curiosity. chicagoculturalcenter.org FREE

  NEXT: FEBRUARY »

 

Photography: (Casablanca) Everett Collection; (Butler) Stewart Talent New York

Share

comments
2 years ago
Posted by wcramer

Thanks for the mention of the U of C Folk festival! Just a heads up, the article lists the festival as "this weekend". The festival is actually February 10th-12th!

Submit your comment